articles

The Scrum Podcast Episode 97: The 2020 30 Under 30 Podcast

This week’s episode sees Julian and Tristan count down the 30 best Canadian sports media professionals in Canada. You might even hear from some of the list’s members in this week’s episode!

Listen to The Scrum on Spotify

Subscribe to our show on iTunes:

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-scrum-podcast/id1511849604?uo=4

Subscribe to our show on Google Podcasts:

https://www.google.com/podcasts?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuc3ByZWFrZXIuY29tL3Nob3cvNDM3MjY4OS9lcGlzb2Rlcy9mZWVk
Music by Cooper Richardson.

A Sports Podcasting Network production.

Copyright 2020.

  1. Kayla Grey, TSN (Toronto) @kayla_grey
  2. Kyle Bukauskas, SN (Toronto), @SNkylebukauskas
  3. Scott Wheeler, The Athletic (Toronto), @scottcwheeler
  4. Hailey Salvian, The Athletic (Ottawa), @hailey_salvian
  5. Kevin Raphael, TVA Sports, Sans Restrictions podcast (Montreal), @kevinraphael21
  6. Harman Dayal, The Athletic (Vancouver), @harmandayal2
  7. Salim Valji, NYT, TSN (Montreal/Calgary) @salimvalji
  8. Marshall Ferguson, TSN1150 (Hamilton), @TSN_Marsh 
  9. William Lou, Yahoo Sports Canada (Toronto), @william_lou 
  10. Bardown, TSN (Toronto), @Bardown
  11. Dimitri Filipovic, PDOCast (Vancouver), @DimFilipovic
  12. Maxime Van Houtte, 91.9 Sports (Montreal), @maxvanhoutte
  13. Nick Ashbourne, SN (Toronto), @NickAshbourne
  14. Daphnée Malboeuf, RDS/91.9/La Presse (Montreal), @DaphneeMalboeuf
  15. Josh Howe, SN (Toronto), @Howevolution 
  16. Avry Lewis-McDougall, Sky Sports (Edmonton), @Avry
  17. Antonin Besner, RDS (Montreal), @abesnerRDS
  18. Victor Findlay, U Sports/TSN (Mississauga), @Victor_Findlay
  19. Kevin Vallee, 91.9/AlleyOop360 (Montreal), @KevinMVallee
  20. Ailish Forfar, SN/Yahoo! Sports Canada (Toronto), @ailishforfar
  21. Sarah Jenkins, CBC (Toronto), @sarahjenkinsxo
  22. The Gist (Ontario), @thegistnewsca
  23. Jasmin Leroux, RDS (Montreal), @jasmin_leroux
  24. Emily Wilson, The Fulcrum/CBC Sports/MARCA (Ottawa)
  25. Jonathan Still, TSN690 (Montreal), @imstilljon 
  26. Anthony Martineau, TVA (Montreal), @Antho_Martineau
  27. Steven Ellis, The Hockey News (Oakville), @StevenEllisTHN
  28. Ben Steiner, 49Sports, Alpine Skiing Canada, @BenSteiner00
  29. Alexandre Gangue-Ruzic, Between the Sticks (Vancouver), @AlexGangueRuzic 
  30. Le Club École, Student-journalist collective (Montreal)

Who did we miss?

Comment below.

5 replies »

  1. Justin Levine of ThePuckAuthority.com, women’s hockey columnist and NWHL beat writer for the Toronto Six, the only one covering all angle of professional women’s hockey in Canada on a daily basis, done in writing, via podcasting and via three different WHKY focused TV shows airing live twice a week on both Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s. Justin continues to expand his coverage, with weekly involvement with PWHPA players and strong content focused on the Toronto Six, their players and staff and their impact on the women’s game as the first professional women’s hockey team based in Toronto since the CWHL’s folding.

    Like

  2. You missed Abigail Dove, Sportsnet’s Next Generation rinkside reporter! Works for CBCKids News on her own sports show “KNSports with Abigail and Arjun” and wrote articles for Sports Illustrated Kids for four years. Oh and she’s 15 years old!

    Like

  3. Some names to consider, with job titles/Twitter handles in brackets:

    – Maria Papadakis (Toronto FC Host, @MariaPapadakiss)
    – Caroline Szwed (SN, @caroline_szwed)
    – Michael Stephens (Yahoo Sports, @mikeystephens81)
    – Lukas Weese (Freelance Multiplatform Sports Journalist, @Weesesports)
    – Vivek Jacob (CBC/Complex Canada, @vivekmjacob)
    – Justin Levine (The Puck Authority, @JustinLevineHBS)
    – Hayley McGoldrick (WNBA Writer, SN, @GoldieOnSports)
    – Dom Luszczyszyn (The Athletic, @domluszczyszyn)
    – Julia Tocheri (TSN, @juliatocheri)
    – Rachel Halliwell (SN, @rachelhaliwell)

    Like

  4. Some names to consider, with job titles/Twitter handles in brackets:

    – Maria Papadakis (Toronto FC Host, @MariaPapadakiss)
    – Caroline Szwed (SN, @caroline_szwed)
    – Michael Stephens (Yahoo Sports, @mikeystephens81)
    – Lukas Weese (Freelance Multiplatform Sports Journalist, @Weesesports)
    – Vivek Jacob (CBC/Complex Canada, @vivekmjacob)
    – Hayley McGoldrick (WNBA Writer, SN, @GoldieonSports)
    – Justin Levine (The Puck Authority, @JustinLevineHBS)
    – Dom Luszczyszyn (The Athletic, @domluszczyszyn)
    – Julia Tocheri (TSN, @juliatocheri)
    – Rachel Halliwell (SN, @rachelhalliwell)

    Like

Leave a Reply to Steven Tristan Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.